✄ DIY tutorial | Tumblr inspired half-bleached shorts ✄

half bleached shorts ePicture1

Hi everyone!

So recently, a bunch of tumblr pictures of half bleached cut-off shorts caught my eye -something about it’s carefree, ripped, beach-y style was just so appealing to me and the current weather in Singapore.

(Are you a banana? ‘Cos you’re so a-PEEL-ling.)

I remember seeing similar half bleached shorts retailing at Cotton On for around $39.90 (the usual price) and thought NO WAY was I going to pay so much for a pair of shorts that I can easily make for under $10.

I’m really satisfied with the end result and the overall cost of this DIY was under $5 as I had all the supplies at home already! The studs I used in this DIY were $5 for a pack for a hundred if I remember correctly, and I only used around 20 :)

On with the tutorial!

Materials you will need:

1. A pair of denim jeans or cut off shorts

2. Clothing bleach

3. A spray bottle

4. Scissors

5. Optional: Studs, lace, or any other decorative add-ons

1. I managed to get my hand on a pair of jeans that fit nicely at the waist but were not flattering enough to keep as jeans.

CAM00140       CAM00160

2. Take a pair of shorts that you like the cutting of and place it on top of the jeans. Trace the hem of the shorts onto the jeans with chalk. Here I’m using a pink chalk marker  I bought from Chinatown fabric market.

 CAM00170

3. Cut along the line and try the shorts on to test the fit. I decided to shorten the front a bit.

CAM00171 CAM00174

4. Fill a spray bottle with bleach. I used undiluted clothing bleach, but if the bleach you have at home is really strong, you might want to try adding water so you don’t over-bleach your shorts. (Over-bleaching can cause the denim to degrade and rip very easily!)

CAM00175

5. Lay your shorts on a newspaper to prevent ruining/staining your floor, and start spraying the bleach all over the bottom half of your shorts.

Note: you might want to do this in a well ventilated area as bleach fumes can really stink and is poisonous!

 CAM00184 CAM00186

6. Lay your shorts out to dry in the sun! Heat and wind helps the bleach to react faster.

In the means time, grab a quick lunch like me or catch up on some of your homework/tv shows!

P.S. I watched How I Met Your Mother’s latest episode and was on the verge of tears.

Spoiler alert: Lily is soooooooo awesome! :’)

CAM00190

7. This is how your shorts should look after sitting in the sun for a bit. I left mine out for around 2 hours. Don’t worry if your shorts look yellowed and stained! It’s natural, all you have to do is wash the bleach out :)

Rinse your shorts under running water to get rid of the bleach.

CAM00192

8. Hand wash your shorts with soap! Fill a tub with water, half a cup of detergent and a bit of washing powder. Keep scrubbing and rubbing the shorts until you see the water has turned really dark blue.

CAM00193 CAM00195

9. This step is optional, but for those of you who want your shorts to be a little distressed and scuffed up, cut little slits in your shorts where you want it to be distressed.

CAM00199

10. Throw your shorts into the washing machine with a bit of washing powder and half a cup of detergent to get it fully white at the bottom :)

CAM00201

11. TA-DA!

Your half bleached shorts are now as white as a bunny (well at least half of it)!

You can end here if you think you like a nice, basic pair of bleached shorts, but I decided to go one step further and add some studs to give the shorts a bit of a edgy, grunge feel.

CAM00202

CAM00206 CAM00210

Finally, your awesome half-bleached, studded, distressed, majorly cool shorts are complete!

CAM00235 CAM00238

I really loved how mine turned out! It took me half a day to complete this whole project, a fairly short time considering the waiting for the bleach to react.

IMG-20140315-WA0010 IMG-20140315-WA0011 IMG-20140315-WA0017

Till next time!

p x

10 thoughts on “✄ DIY tutorial | Tumblr inspired half-bleached shorts ✄

  1. Pingback: Style Me Quick – Denim Bleached Jeans | Bath and Body | CraftGossip.com

  2. do you have to pit it in the washing machine? Can you just hand wash it until it turns white because my washing machine at home broke a few days ago.

    • Hi Maya! Yup, you can simply hand wash it until it turns white, but it will definitely take more time though! Do let me know how it goes if you try it! :)

  3. Heya! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours require a massive
    amount work? I am completely new to running a
    blog however I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings
    online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips
    for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    • Hi there! Thank you for the compliment, I really appreciate it! :)
      This blog was started in February this year, so I guess it’s still fairly young. I try my best to post at least once every two weeks, and so far it’s been a really fun and fulfilling journey. My three biggest tips for you would be to write about something you’re really passionate about, persevere regardless of the number of views you get (“even miracles take a little time” – Cinderella) and lastly to get a good theme and blog “name” – after all it’s gonna stick with you for some time if you start to get serious about blogging!
      I’m still experimenting right now and am no where close to where I hope to be one day, so let’s strive to improve together! Hahaha hope this helped! :D

    • Yup that’s perfectly fine too! But be sure to do this over a basin to avoid staining your floors, and wear gloves as bleach can be really toxic! Have fun! :)

Leave a Reply

